The United States Of America LP

The United States Of America

€ 60,00
  • 1. The American Metaphysical Circus
  • 2. Hard Coming Love
  • 3. Cloud Song
  • 4. The Garden Of Earthly Delights
  • 5. I Won't Leave My Wooden Wife For You, Sugar
  • 6. Where Is Yesterday
  • 7. Coming Down
  • 8. Love Song For The Dead Che
  • 9. Stranded In Time
  • 10. Metaphor Of The Older Man
  • 11. California Good-Time Music
  • 12. Love Is All

Legendary pyschrock album from US group The United States Of America released in 1968.

The United States of America was an American experimental rock band founded in Los Angeles in 1967 by composer Joseph Byrd and vocalist Dorothy Moskowitz, with electric violinist Gordon Marron, bassist Rand Forbes and drummer Craig Woodson. Their 1968 self-titled album, often cited as an early showcase for the use of electronic devices in rock music, was met with critical acclaim. They disbanded shortly after its release.

The group’s sound was grounded in both psychedelia and the avant-garde. Unusually, the band had no guitar player; instead, they used strings, keyboards and electronics, including primitive synthesizers, and various audio processors, including the ring modulator. Many of the songs' lyrics reflected Byrd's leftist political views. AllMusic described them as "among the most revolutionary bands of the late '60s."

This Dutch pressing from 1968 (CBS – S 63340) is in excellent condition.

  • Condition: VG+ (Vinyl) / VG+ (Cover)
  • Ships within 1 day